“Healthy” Crepes

Healthy is a relative term, it’s very hard to define. All of us have our own personal definition of what it is. For some of us it’s no refined sugar, for others it’s low carb. I hate putting labels on food, some foods have more nutritional value than others, but we need to realize that ALL food has some type of nutritional value.  So with that being said, these aren’t healthy crepes, they’re “healthy” crepes. These crepes are lightly adapted from Basic Crepes. I first scaled down the recipe down to one, because if you’re like me, it’s much easier to make something without having any lonely leftovers.

PrettyCrepes

 I then subbed out half of the flour for whole wheat flour, an easy change that didn’t change the texture too much. Next was egg whites for eggs and coconut oil for butter. Now what am I supposed to do about the filling? I could of used light cream cheese, but I didn’t have any. So I used the closest thing I had to cream cheese, cottage cheese. I added a splash of  vanilla to it and sweetened it up with a little bit of honey. But wait Trina, I don’t like cottage cheese. I know, I know, a lot of people don’t like cottage cheese, but with this recipe you could easily sub greek yogurt or neufchâtel cheese.  When it comes to the fruit in this recipe, use whatever you have on hand. I went with half a sliced banana and some strawberries. I also think it would be absolutely delicious if you added a little orange zest to the cottage cheese and used blueberries. Whatever variation you choose, I hope this can help provide you with a healthier start to the day.

Crepe Stand

“Healthy” Crepes (Makes 1 serving)

2 tbsp. all-purpose flour

2 tbsp. whole wheat flour

1 egg white

1/4 cup milk (cow, soy, almond, etc.)

2 tsp. melted coconut oil

Pinch of salt

1/3-1/2 cup cottage cheese

Honey (add to taste)

Splash of vanilla

Fruit of choice (I used 3 sliced strawberries and half a banana)

  1. In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together flours and salt.
  2. Measure out milk in a measuring glass. Add melted coconut oil and egg white. Beat together until combined.
  3. Add  the liquid mixture to the flour mixture gradually. Mix until well combined.
  4. Heat a lightly greased or sprayed pan to low heat. Use a 1/4 cup or cookie scoop (if you want small crepes) to pour batter into pan. Tilt the pan in a circular motion so the batter spreads.
  5. Cook the crepe for about a minute before flipping. Cook the other side for just a few seconds.
  6. Once the crepes are all cooked, set them aside for a few minutes while making the filling. In a small bowl mix together cottage cheese, honey, and vanilla.
  7. Assemble crepes by filling each with cottage cheese and fruit of choice. You can now either fold them in half or roll them up. Enjoy.

Inspired by Allrecipes

Leave a Reply

