Watermelon Smoothie

Ahh! It’s been awhile hasn’t it. I’ve just been outside soaking up the 100 degree weather we have here in the midwest. 100 degree weather, yes, I’m actually outside in it. Being outside when it’s that hot, it feels like a hell (I really wish I were joking, but I’m not). Cooling down and hydrating is vital before and after you go outside . That means LOTS of cold food for me. Ice cream, salads, and smoothies, all made their way into my diet this week. For once chocolate desserts don’t have any appeal to me.SmoothieSlightAngle

I’m sure a lot of you have heard of banana “ice cream“, the ice cream that isn’t actually ice cream, well typical banana “ice cream” is usually made with frozen bananas. Ripe frozen bananas give a great frosty texture, so of course I had to throw them into my smoothie. Watermelon and bananas don’t exactly sound like they go together, but you can’t omit the bananas in this recipe, it won’t taste good. Whether it’s 100 degrees or not, this smoothie is both hydrating and delicious.

SmoothieSharpAngle

 

Watermelon Smoothie (Makes one 16 oz. smoothie)

1 ripe banana (cut into chunks and frozen)

1 1/2 cup diced watermelon

1/3 cup water

1/4 lime

Pinch of salt

Instructions

  1. Add water, watermelon, salt, and juice from the lime to the blender. Blend until smooth.
  2. Add banana and blend until no banana chunks remain. Pour into glass and garnish with a lime slice.

Adapted from Healthy. Happy. Life.

Leave a Reply

