Mini Key Lime Pies

You know what I realized as I scrolled through my blog today? Out of the 12 recipes I have, 8 of them are breakfast recipes. Yes, that’s right, three-quarters of all the recipes I have are breakfast recipes!  I’m not really quite sure how that happened considering there are four other meals in the day. You’re probably wondering how I got to a total of five meals a day.  I’m the type of person who needs to have a snack and dessert EVERY day and counts them as separate meals. Do normal people not eat dessert on a daily basis? Oh, well!

CashewsRecently, I’ve been into making vegan desserts.  I like the challenge of being able to make something without dairy, eggs, and/or honey. My family, like most other people, is skeptical of vegan desserts. Despite my family’s dislike of vegan desserts, my dad never has a problem eating Banana Breakfast Oat Cookies or these key lime pies before I tell him they’re vegan.

StackedMemories of key lime pie usually come from a box. I know what you’re thinking–my grandma is supposed to have made the best pies and whenever I eat them I think of her, but that’s just not true. Whenever I eat key lime pie I think of the Edwards key lime pie in the freezer section. Now I’m eating homemade mini vegan key lime pies–oh how far I’ve come from the freezer section of desserts at Walmart!

Bite CashewsMini Key Lime Pies (Makes 5)

1/2 cup pitted dates

1/4 cup old fashioned oats

1 tbsp. ground flaxseed

1-2 tsp. coconut oil (melted, optional)

 

1/2 cup raw cashews (soaked in water for 4-6 hrs. and then drained)

1/4 cup coconut milk

2 tbsp. coconut oil (melted)

2-3 limes (1/4 cup juice, 1 tsp. zest)

1/4-1/3 cup maple syrup

Pinch of salt

Instructions

  1. Line 5 muffins tins with paper liners.
  2. In a food processor blend dates until you are able to form a ball with it. Add in oats and ground flaxseed, pulse until combined. Add coconut oil 1 tsp. at a time if needed to make a stickier/wetter crust.
  3. Distribute date crust mixture evenly among paper liners. Use clean fingers to press the mixture into each liner. Place in freezer to firm up while making filling.
  4. Clean out the food processor. Add all ingredients to the food processor and process until smooth. Add more maple syrup if needed.
  5. Take muffins tins out of the freezer. Pour filling into each of the liners. Garnish with lime zest if wanted. Cover loosely with plastic wrap and place back in freezer. Freeze until solid.
  6. Remove from the freezer for 10-15 minutes to thaw before serving. They will keep covered in the freezer for up to 2 weeks.

Filling adapted from Minimalist Baker

 

2 thoughts on “Mini Key Lime Pies

    • You’re welcome to use this recipe, but please make sure to give credit to the original author, Minimalist Baker. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

